Supreme Court Orders Five Persons to pay Rupees 310 million as Compensation to April 2019 Terror Attack Victims. Maithripala Sirisena-100 m;Pujitha Jayasundara – 75m;Nilantha Jayawardhane-75 m; Hemasiri Fernando-50 m;Sisira Mendis-10 m.


Lakmal Sooriyagoda

The Supreme Court today ordered former President Maithripala Sirisena to pay a sum of Rs.100 million as damages to the victims of Easter Sunday attacks.

Former IGP Pujith Jayasundara and former SIS director Nilantha Jayawardhane were ordered to pay Rs.75 million each as compensation. Former Defence Secretary Hemasiri Fernando was ordered to pay Rs. 50 million and former Chief National Intelligence Sisira Mendis was ordered to pay Rs.10 million.

The Court held these respondents have violated the fundamental rights of petitions filed in connection with Easter Sunday attacks.

Courtesy:Daily Mirror