SLFP’s Ranjit Siyambalapitiya who Resigned Last Month is Re – elected Deputy Speaker With 148 Votes; SJB’s Imtiaz Bakeer Markar gets 65; 3 MP’s Spoil their Vote; SLPP, SLFP and So Called Independents Back Ranjit while SJB,TNA and JVP Support Imtiaz

SLFP MP Ranjith Siyambalapitiya was today re-elected Deputy Speaker by a majority of 83 votes in a secret ballot.

A total of 148 members voted for Mr. Siyambalapitiya and SJB MP Imthiaz Bakeer Markar obtained 65 votes. Three votes were rejected.

SLFP MP Nimal Siripala De Silva proposed Mr. Siyambalapitiya’s name while SJB MP Lakshman Kiriella proposed Bakeer Markar’s name.

Minister G.L. Peiris said the government would also support Mr. Siyambalapitiya.

Deputy Speaker’s post fell vacant after Ranjith Siyambalapitiya resigned as the Deputy Speaker recently.

Courtesy:Daily Mirror