DBSJeyaraj.com on Facebook

Five Member Bench of Supreme Court Comprising Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya and Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare,Sisira J de Abrew,Priyantha Jayawardena and Vijithkumara Malalgoda will Consider Petitions Challenging 20 A Draft on Sep 29

Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya PC will head the five-member Bench named to consider the petitions filed challenging the constitutionality of the 20th Amendment (20A) to the Constitution Bill.

The Chief Justice named Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare PC, Sisira J. de Abrew, Justice Priyantha Jayawardena PC and Vijith Kumara Malalgoda PC as the other members of the Bench. The petitions will be considered on 29 September.

By yesterday a total of 18 petitions had been filed challenging the Bill. The 20th Amendment to the Constitution Bill was tabled in the House on Tuesday and petitioners have seven days within which to challenge the Bill. Meanwhile Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena announced in Parliament yesterday he had received copies of 10 of the petitions so far.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) and the Centre for Policy Alternatives are among the Petitioners.

Courtesy:Daily FT