Four MP’s Have Remained Silent Without Speaking in Parliamentary Debates From Jan to Dec 2019 While Nine Other MP’s Have Spoken Only Once During Debates Last Year

Disna Mudalige

Thirteen MPs had either not spoken or had spoken only once during debates in Parliament last year, a statistical analysis by ‘’ website run by Verité Research revealed.

The analysis was based on Parliament Hansard reports from January to December last year.

MPs Indika Bandanayake, Siripala Gamlath, Dulip Wijesekara and Minister Janaka Bandara had not spoken in any Parliamentary debate last year, while MPs Chathura Senaratne, D.M Swaminathan, Dunesh Gankanda, S.B. Navinna, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Mohan Lal Grero, Premalal Jayasekara, Dharmalingam Siddarthan and State Minister Lohan Ratwatte had only spoken once in Parliament debates.

UNP MP Swaminathan was appointed from the UNP National List and all the others had entered Parliament from the people’s votes.

Courtesy:Daily News