122 Out of 225 MP’s Sign No Confidence Motion Against Mahinda Rajapaksa Who Walks Out of Chamber Suddenly Causing an Uproar in House

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya has issued a statement saying the no-confidence motion against former President Mahinda Rajapaksa was taken up in the house.

The Speaker said 122 MPs had signed the no-confidence motion.

The motion will be sent to President Maithripala Sirisena for him to take necessary action.

The United National Party (UNP) earlier confirmed that 122 MPs signed the No Confidence Motion although MPs of the UPFA denied the fact.

Aside from the 102 MPs representing the UNP, the TNA, the JVP and several MPs who initially supported the Sirisena-Rajapaksa alliance, namely Manusha Nanayakkara, Wasantha Senanayake, Vadiwel Suresh, Piyasena Gamage and A.H.M. Fowzie also supported the NCM against Rajapaksa.

Pandemoium Erupts After Mahinda Rajapaksa Walks Out of Chamber Suddeny

There was disagreement in the House over whether the no-confidence motion against former President Mahinda Rajapaksa was taken up, with UNP, JVP and TNA members saying it was, and the UPFA denying it.

The UNP, JVP and TNA say the vote was taken as passed with a resounding majority, but the UPFA reject the claim, saying the vote on NCM was never taken up.

Pandemonium broke out in the House as a result of this disagreement, and because former President Mahinda Rajapaksa walked out of the chambers in an unexpected move.

It hasn’t been officially confirmed that the vote was taken, or passed, or what the result is but UNP MPs are currently signing a motion to be given to the Speaker reconfirming their calls.

Courtesy:Asian Mirror