Deep Division Within Joint Opposition Over No Confidence Motion Against Prime Minister With MP’s Ramesh Pathirana,Nimal Lanza,Prasanna Ranatunge and Kumara Welgama Criticising the Move.

By Saman Indrajith

The Joint Opposition (JO) parliamentary group members are divided on the no-faith motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. There were heated arguments at the JO’s parliamentary group meeting yesterday.

Parliament sources said dissenting views had been expressed by the JO members over submitting the NCM.

JO Parliamentarians Ramesh Pathirana, Nimal Lansa, Prasanna Ranatunga and Kumara Welgama severely criticized the decision to move the no confidence motion against the Prime Minister.

Asking whether the no-faith motion against the Prime Minister had been masterminded by President Maithripala Sirisena some MPs said the JO could be walking into a trap.

The MPs asked who would be the PM if Wickremesinghe was removed from that post.

The motion has been signed by about 52 MPs, according to sources.

When approached by MP Lansa, Ministers Dayasiri Jayasekara and Chamdima Weerakkody had stated that they would not sign the motion.

Courtesy:The Island