Krishantha Cooray Appointed to Board of DFCC Bank as Independent Director

KCPopular media industry personality Krishantha Cooray has been appointed to the Board of DFCC Bank Plc as an Independent Director, hot on the heels of a similar position on the Board of Sri Lanka Telecom.

With the latest appointment, the Board of DFCC Bank Plc comprises Royle Jansz (Chairman), Gomin Dayasiri, H.M.N.S. Gunawardana, J.E.A. Perumal, P.M.B. Fernando, T. Dharmarajah, S.R. Thambiayah and K.P. Cooray.

Major shareholders of DFCC Bank include Bank of Ceylon (14.35%), HNB (12.2%), Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation (10%), EPF (9%), M.A. Yaseen (7.2%), Melstacorp Ltd., (6.4%) and Seafeld International Ltd., (5.7%).
Cooray is a private sector executive counting several years of experience in the corporate sector with an academic background in Political Science and Law.
Having completed his schooling at S. Thomas’ College Mount Lavinia, he read for a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Political Science and Law at the University of Middlesex.
In the corporate sector he has held several executive positions in leading, innovative private sector companies including the Ceylinco Group, Richard Peiris Group and the Maharaja Organisation.

He joined the Richard Peiris Group as the Head of Business Development and went on to found the first completely independent publishing house owned by a public quoted company. He was instrumental in setting up Rivira Media Corporation Ltd. under the Richard Peiris Group and served as founding Director and CEO. The two flagship newspapers launched under his direction were Rivira and The Nation.
During his stint at the Maharaja Group, Krishantha worked as a Consultant, supervising, streamlining and ensuring executive coordination of news broadcasts by the TV and radio stations belonging to the company.
His longstanding association with the media includes the contribution of articles to several national newspapers.