Seven Member Committee Appointed to Study Draft 20th Constitutional Amendment and ubmit Report to Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa by Sep 22 Following Reservations Expressed by Constituent Parties of SLPP Led Alliance

The Government parliamentary group which met yesterday decided to appoint a seven-member committee to study the 20th Amendment to the Constitution after constituent parties expressed reservations over some contents in the draft Bill.

The Committee will consider the views of different parties in Government and submit a report to Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa by 22 September.

The Committee is headed by Education Minister G.L. Peiris and will include Ministers Nimal Siripala De Silva, Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila, Ali Sabry, State Minister Susil Premajayantha and MP Premanath Dolawatta.

Courtesy:Daily FT