DBSJeyaraj.com on Facebook

Official Gazette Notification Issued By Presidential Secretariat on Voluntary Resignations of Four Cabinet Ministers, Four State Ministers and a Deputy Minister

An official gazette notification was issued by the Presidential Secretariat on Friday on the resignations of nine Muslim Ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers, who voluntarily quit their portfolios.

Nine Muslim politicians — four Cabinet ministers, four state ministers and one deputy minister — tendered their resignation letters effective from Monday, June 3.

The names of the ministers and their portfolios are as follows:


Rauff Hakeem – Minister of City Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education; Rishad Bathiudeen – Minister of Industry, Commerce, Resettlement of Protracted Displaced Persons, Co-operative Development, Vocational Training and Skills Development; Kabir Hashim – Minister of Highways, Road Development and Petroleum Resources Development; Haleem Mohomad Hasheem – Minister of Postal Services & Muslim Religious Affairs.

State Ministers:

Mohomed Casim Faizal – State Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine; Mohamed Harees – State Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government; Ameer Ali – State Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Rural Economic Affairs; and Ali Zahir Moulana – State Minister of Social Empowerment.

Deputy Minister:

Abdullah Maharoof – Deputy Minister of Ports and Shipping.

The Sunday Times learns that the sudden resignations of nine Muslim ministers from the cabinet and their decision to continue to support the government had a minimal effect on the day-to-day administrative affairs of their respective ministries. In some instances, some urgent cabinet papers from these ministries were submitted through other subject ministers to the Cabinet.

Courtesy:Sunday Times