DBSJeyaraj.com on Facebook

Eight Member Parliament Select Committee Headed by Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri Appointed to Probe Easter Sunday Attacks.


Yohan Perera and Ajith Siriwardana

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today announced the appointment of an eight member Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) headed by Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri, to look into the Easter Sunday bomb attacks.

The other members of the PSC include Ministers Rauff Hakeem, Ravi Karunanayake, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, MPs Kavinda Jayawardene, Ashu Marasinghe, Jayampathi Wickramaratne and M. A. Sumanthiran.

The select committee will look into whether the law enforcement authorities had received intelligence reports relating to the Easter Sunday attacks, whether the relevant authorities took adequate steps to mitigate the attacks, whether there were any irregularities in the state machinery that led to the inability to mitigate or prevent the attacks, whether any other factors contributed to the attacks and what action should be taken to prevent such attacks in the future.

It will also have a mandate to summon any Minister or MP for questioning.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe assured that the committee will come up with a report in two weeks’ time.

Courtesy:Daily Mirror